Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it

Re: Morning has broken

Is there something else they can provide instead @Eve7 ? Anything you can think of that may work better for you?

Have you had a peer worker before?

It's only been a few months for you @Eve7  - that's not long at all - it can take a long time to get over the death of one of our children - years even - and for me the first year was the hardest - it's hard to tell you this

However people who don't know will expect you to "get over it" - that is so unhelpful - it takes its own time and is its own story. You can't hurry it and it won't go away. I didn't want to grieve but I had to - there is the challenge - and gradually I accepted it - and now respect my son's decision - it's over 38 years now and one helpful thing I can tell you is that it was the most important thing that happened to me in my long lifetime, and I learned a great deal. I wish the same for you.

Where indeed does a mother go with a broken heart? You need to have contact with other bereaved parents - there you will find people who are at their own stages of their grief work but do understand.

I joined The Compassionate Friends - that was in 1986 - they are still going strong - you can find them on-line - they have a website - they were very well organised when I was a member and a volunteer - I think on-line services are probably even better. They had a library and I read everything I could on the subject of child loss and grief - if nothing else - it passed the time - but I learned.