Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

ruskiesplin
Casual Contributor

Advice for a message to ex-girlfriend's father

Hello everyone,

The girl who I used to be in a long distance relationship with, who is 17 and lives in the USA, desperately needs professional mental therapy. However, her father refuses to get it for her and says that she's making it all up, despite the fact that she's been officially diagnosed for her issues. Not only that, but he actively makes her problems worse with the way he acts towards her, despite her telling him many many times how bad it is for her.

So, I have written up a message to him to try and solve these problems.
I want to give it the highest chance of success possible, as he frequently disregards and ignores things, no matter how important they are; therefore any advice that anybody has for things that I could add or change would be hugely appreciated.

"Hi there,

I'm not sure how much of an impact this is going to have as you don't really know me and so have no reason to respect my input, but I need to try anyway, as what I'm going to talk about is very serious and urgent.