Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Biggles
Casual Contributor

Psychosis and chronic fatigue syndrome

My daughter has been diagnosed with both psychosis (twice 2021 & 2022) and earlier with chronic fatigue syndrome/Myalgic Enchephalomyelitis (CFS/ME) 2019. (Previously to all that, she has been living with Major Depressive Disorder for some years). Because of previous traumatic events associated with her treatment for  psychosis, when she was on a treatment  authority, and now her untreated psychosis, she does not trust any medical professional and states she  does not have the energy to do anything about her conditions because of the CFS. Her trust in us, her parents, has all but diminished and she is distraught most of the time, often angry. She made it clear she would never self harm.

She denies  having psychosis. Her behaviour is getting worse. She is 45yo. Her delusions have been consistent over last 2 years.

I don't see  any way of getting her any treatment other than having her put on a treatment authority again. But her mother fears that doing so will further traumatise her and make her conditions worse (and won't have continued treatment for the CFS). I feel that is leaving us in a catch 22 situation.

We do not know how to proceed

5 REPLIES 5