Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Re: Controlling and Mental Illness

Hi @Former-Member

I like to think that recovering from mental health disorders and other kinds of emotional discomfort we are in the process of learning to control ourselvess

Yes - there are times when other people try and often succeed in controlling us - and this happens when a person starts to take control over their own health issues and their partner, parents, kids, friends, whomever - want the old us back - and they can put the pressure on - mental health or no mental health problems

So rather it's better to learn to have the focus on our own behaviour and act rather than react - and this takes time, trial and error, slipping back and making mistakes

We can't control other people - only ourselves

And you are right - life in general does throw up challenges and we can get that two steps forward one step back thing happening

It may or may not be a mental health issue - some people like to control other people regardless - and we do need those boundaries to care for ourselves - and we learn as we go along

All the best

Decadian

Hi everyone .... 😊💕

My hubby's mi is and eating disorder, and these are based on control issues ....

Here's my essay ....