Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

NeatsZiggy
New Contributor

Being on the Receiving End

Hi Everyone, any advice would be appreciated.

I've had a really tough time supporting my partner who has been going through a rough patch, which started with losing his job late last year.  Before this, he's had a history of building up anger and resentment and its surfacing again.  

One minute he's calm, helpful, loving and caring and the next he's the exact opposite being argumentative and verbally agressive.  Thankfully, he's has asked for help with sessions beginning this week, however I'm finding that being on the receiving end has and is affecting my personal and work life considerably.  

At times I'm unsure if I should even say a word when he's like this or try and reason with him...either way, I've found that I'm damned if I do and damned if I dont.

Experiences and words of advice would be muchly appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Being on the Receiving End