Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

aristosane
Contributor

Burnout

Hi, I've been playing with the idea of joining a forum for weeks but haven't had the courage to step out of my very isolated existence - my first thought being that nobody will understand.  Reading some of your stories I realise that I am not alone.

I have been a carer since 2007 to my twin sister who was diagnosed with Complex PTSD and Bipolar Type 1 and then in 2013 my daughter was diagnosed with severe social anxiety and PTSD.

I have literally not had a day's break from caring and at times I become bitter and angry because as much as I love my family, I am reminded every second of every day how very different my life is and that I will never ever experience "normal" again.

I'm interested to hear how you all manage to balance your lives?  Or do you?

6 REPLIES 6
supernova
Senior Contributor

Re: Burnout

Hi @aristosane

Welcome to the Forums! Thanks for your post and for your courage!