Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

almosthere
New Contributor

best course of action?

Hi, a new acquaintance who is staying with us, arrived due to a major life crisis, over the last four days has not slept they are bipolar and I feel they are now experiencing mania/psychosis. definatley racing thoughts, talking non nonsensical and removing clothes and just walking off in to the dark. We manged to get him back and fed. He was asleep for 20 minutes woke up on the hunt for something, I manged to persuade him to go back to bed and placed a wet cloth on his head and body and maintained smooth contact to guide back to sleep. If this does not work how do we guide the conversation to get him to hospital so that he can sleep as if feel this is the main concern now?any thoughts

3 REPLIES 3

Re: best course of action?

Hey @almosthere ,

Do you have your local area's mental health triage number? This would be the best start as it sounds like he's not very safe at the moment.

It sounds like he really needs support. The only other way is to call 000 so the police can take him to the hospital.

I see you posted 2 days ago. How has he been since?