Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

smile
Casual Contributor

Unsure how to care for my friend

Hi those who are willing to read this,

I've got a friend (who I have known since I was about 10!) who has BPD, Depression, Anxiety, Anorexia for the past 3-4 years and I'm not sure if there are anymore. But I've been finding it really tough the last year and a half. She's had multiple suicide attempts and self-harms.

The hospital has been not very good in providing her and her family with support, and I know her mum is getting really frustrated with them. They keep telling my friend's mum off for ringing up the ambulance when my friend is irrational and harmful. I feel really sorry for her family.

I send her texts, and visit her in hospital. But I know she's just finding it really hard with social anxiety. Are there any topics you think wouldn't be awkward to talk about on the phone? I don't want to seem like I'm oblivious or don't care, but I don't want to be really pushy either. You understand what I mean?

I'm trying to be the best friend that I can with keeping her respect. I love her so much, and I really try my best. I don't know how to care for her without making her worse.

I'd appreciate all the help I can get.

Love,

smile

6 REPLIES 6