Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Former-Member
Not applicable

Struggling with diagnosis.

I have been struggling with my diagnosis for some time now. All my notes from hospital say schizophrenia but no doctor has even discussed that diagnosis with me and it's bothering me. I'm still struggling with the diagnosis of psychotic depression. I am a young person and am thinking who will want me in terms of partner wise. What if the doctors have it wrong and it is schizophrenia - that would be worse for me. I apply no stigma to everyone else but myself.

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Struggling with diagnosis.

@Former-MemberI think it is fair to speak to your GP about it, about what it could mean, and ways to recovery.

Its heady stuff being told or just reading it on your notes.

I believe hospitals ought have a policy re discussing diagnoses with patients before they discharge, pity they did not have the courtesy to do so with you. Also when we are overwhelmed we may not remember everything that occurred.

Bottom line you are a person not a label.

Go gently and look after yourself.

Former-Member
Not applicable