Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Former-Member
Not applicable

Need to brainstorm ideas for coping

This might be a bit long because I need to explain the situation, so bear with me.

The dog I was training to be my psychiatric assistance dog was super unluckily diagnosed with hip dysplasia a month ago, aged 15 months. This means he can't be an assistance dog as he needs a vet to sign him off as being fit to work. I can't leave the house without the help of my dog, who is now officially a pet. What is more, I won't be able to keep him because I still need a working dog, but I live alone and if I kept him and got a working dog, he would be left alone far too much and be unhappy. My friend has said he will do an "open adoption", so I can still see him sometimes but he will be my friend's dog. That's the best situation I could hope for, really.