Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Molly1
New Contributor

Community Treatment Orders - Help

My 19 year old son recently breached his CTO and was picked up by the police and taken to our nearest Mental Health Facility which is over an hour away. He has now been there almost 2 weeks. Today I spoke to his doctor and asked when he will be discharged. I was told that because he was admitted for a breach of his CTO, they can keep him there until his current CTO expires, which is the beginning of next month. The doctor also told me that they are looking at sending him to a Mental Health Rehab Unit which would be for about 3 months. I mentioned about his CTO expiring next month and that my son wouldn't agree to stay. The doctor wasn't concerned about this and said that they would just get another CTO and hold him under that. Does anyone know if they can do this ?  Any suggestions on what I can do to fight this ?  My son also has an intellectual disability and attends a day program where he is taught life and work skills.