Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Delicatessen
Senior Contributor

I’m confused about whether to, when or what to disclose

Last year, I decided to disclose I was bipolar to my boss. He was very good about it, but I was unprepared for him telling me he didn’t know anything about the illness (but strangely enquired for details of my misdeeds). He asked how he could support me, and I wasn’t ready with a response. He suggested I tell others (as having more who knew would be better) for which I declined - and I have not disclosed to anyone since. 

I felt confused after the disclosure…and exposed. I told myself that I should feel pleased because at least someone knew…but I wasn’t.

Upon reflection, there are some things I would really value hearing others thoughts on…

Has anyone had a similar experience?

Do you think the prospect of disclosure also mean you have to be an educator and advocate at the same time (that it’s bigger than it first looks)?

I know there’s lots of awareness going on for mental illness in the workplace, but what “support” can my employer really offer me?

In closing I thought I’d mention that my doctor all but instructed me (literally) not to disclose. On balance and for now I’d have to say I’m glad I did.

6 REPLIES 6