Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

JustWhelmed
Contributor

Here's my story...

TW: mention of self harm, un-aliving oneself, violence.

Well. Hard to know where to begin. I married an amazing person 4 years ago; we both had 2 kids each from previous relationships, and are now settled in our dream home with our kiddos, too many pets and an ongoing renovation…. ☹

It is a LONG story, I will keep it as brief as I can, but…. It’s a lot.

My partner is Autistic (unofficially dx by his psychiatrist), very likely has ADHD (awaiting assessment!) and CPTSD due to an appalling upbringing and an abusive and neglectful ex (mother to his 2 kids). My husband is incredibly intelligent, as in quantum physics is easy to him intelligent.

He’s medicated for anxiety and to help with sleep, but doesn’t like what it does to his ability to think, and it can make him a bit less focussed. Things can be ok for short periods of time; he does struggle with life admin and just knowing when to do normal life stuff like chores, hygiene (not his so much as his kids), is a struggle..... and while I HATE that I need to tell them how to exist….. I also understand that these things can be tricky for neurodivergent folk (I have ADHD myself). So I have to organise and push him to do that, every day.