Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Lost1
Senior Contributor

Help with 'getting over' the bad stuff

Just wondering what techniques or ideas you all might have for letting go, accepting, getting over all the bad stuff that happens because of caring for someone with mental illness......

My husband is schizoaffective and when unwell and in psychosis he just says the most horrible things.....most of the time he never even remembers any of it yet it's stuck running through my head day after day. I tell myself that it isn't really him doing or saying things but as time goes on and things build up I just get overwhelmed and then thoughts start to creep in like 'what if he really thinks that' or you start believing things.

In his first psychosis he told me that I was sexually abused as a child because I must of liked it.........I was gutted and it was so cruel to me but he remembers nothing and talking about things when he is okay just triggers his feelings of guilt and his depression....It ruins him.

So what can I do in my everyday life to forgive and forget so I can enjoy the days when things are going okay?

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Help with 'getting over' the bad stuff