Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

BeenThere
New Contributor

Endless string of bad luck?

How we create our own luck and how to put mechanisms in place to turn the odds around.
4 REPLIES 4

Re: Endless string of bad luck?

Welcome @BeenThere

What a HUGE question to start with - starting with the tough questions, I see!

Hmmmm, I have so many different views on this one.

I think 'luck' is a consequence of positive actions. I can't often control the outcome of something, but if I do everything in my power towards getting the outcome I want, then that's all I can do. So for example.... I really want a job, I will work really hard on my CV and apply for it, I will study the company, I will do some practice questions and prepare for the interview. All of that is in my control.

Variables, for example the other applicants, are out of my control. 

So I have partly made my own luck and partly not.

But I couldn't get the job if I didn't put the wheels in action and apply for it.

That's my thoughts anyways. It's getting late for me to think on such a deep level 🙂

I'd be interested to hear what others think?

BeenThere - may I ask what this is related to? Or is it just a philosophical questions you're pondering?