Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Re: Caring for elderly alcoholic mother

Yes, if people only knew how little help you were getting, they may be thinking differently @Jenny88 

Please rest up. Hopefully you'll feel better soon.

We look forward to hearing how it goes.

Hey @Jenny88 ,

How are you going?

It's been awhile since I've replied but things haven't been great.

Mum has been drinking more and has had 2 falls where her face has been pretty bruised and scratched up.

Yesterday was her birthday. She went out and we shouted her Chinese for dinner but she found out a guy she has been sort of seeing is selling and leaving our town so today has been pretty horrible.

We were supposed to vote so we told her yesterday we would all go in at 9am which she agreed to. She came over drunk and had forgotten. She'd been drinking since the early hours.

I said I wasn't taking her in drunk and we would go in at 2. I asked her to please not drink anymore.

She came over at midday and had forgotten that conversation so I reminded her.

She came over at 2 and had kept drinking so we got in the car and didn't let her in and told her to find her own way.

She said "you always say I'm drunk. I just have a few drinks. I'm never drunk"