Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Appleblossom
Community Elder
10 REPLIES 10

Re: Alternative Approaches in Australia

Great resources, Safe Havens are such a good idea aren't they? Thanks for sharing @Appleblossom 💛

Yes I was noticing the Safe havens continued to be set up during the pandemic, whereas things in Victoria got a bit frozen ... like the weather ...

They must be able to set up better services than the ED.  The ED is expensive and not doing the right job anyway, and even adding trauma to some people..

Thank you so much for sharing @Appleblossom ❤️ 

SafeHavens look amazing. What a great idea. I imagine in regional areas they're so effective too

I wonder if there's a way to advocate for some changes?

I also want to acknowledge what you said about how many services we have right now, like ED, aren't good enough. And can be traumatising for any of us with complex needs. But, sometimes, they're all we have during an emergency ❤️ And while they absolutely need to improve, sometimes they're the only people we can call. 

If you've had some traumatising experiences in the ED, I really encourage you to talk about them. Do you have someone you could talk to about it? 

Big love and thanks for these resources,

TuxedoCat