Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

BertandErnie
New Contributor

Understanding lived experience of BPD

Hey all, 

A forum newbie - what a great crew you all seem! 
My 16 year old daughter was diagnosed with BPD in March this year. Since then, we have had 9 hospitalisations for suicidal ideation and self harm by starvation. Her illness is further manifested in verbal abuse, episodes of uncontrollable crying and what she experiences as panic attacks. She is in weekly therapy, but says nothing works. 
i'm hoping to understand from folks here, even people with BPD, a few things - I've struggled to find first hand accounts to help me understand my daughter's experience. I'm specifically keen to know 

a. Is there anything that I can do that will help her to believe that things can get better? 
b. What has helped others on this forum, either carers or people with this condition to get results from therapy and engage with it? 
c. What is the experience of losing control like? Is there a conflicted 'two wolves' feeling where one part knows that maybe what's being said may not be fully reasoned? Can this part be appealed to?