Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Sukiwuki
Casual Contributor

Help on what to expect and what to say

Hi all

My 46yr brother suffered a drug induced psychotic episode in Oct 2020. He lives in New Zealand and I have not been able to make it back to NZ due to covid. I am finally flying next week.

He is currently living with my mother as he still suffers delusions (his partner is organising someone to get rid of him, he sees codes in pictures and strange files on his computer and phone. He's scared of leaving the house because people are after him)

He is on medication but I think they are still trying to find the correct one for him.

He has not been very open to seeking psychological help. He is aware that his brain has been affected and that his thoughts are scrambled but he believes that they are all real (which of course to him they are).

My question to you all is how can I prepare myself to see my brother like this? How can I help him while I am there? How should I speak with him during his delusions? Should I try and distract him during delusions or get him to focus on something else ie exercise with me or play a board game etc?