Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

JoBlo
Casual Contributor

Family gaslighting?

Hi there, cutting a long story short (and I'd be happy elaborate anywhere).  I'm occasional? amphetamine user. Just a quick question (and I perhaps understand any answer could be as vague I'm being right here) - but has anyone ever heard of family, close friends using hints, subtle gaslighting as technique get someone (me) to change/go see a doctor?

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Family gaslighting?

Hey @JoBlo 

That would be a yes, people under the influence can be manipulated easier, look at the stupid stuff that has been done under the guise of alcohol. ... But I guess the more important question is, what are their concerns and do you share those concerns?  

Hi, thanks for your thoughts

I assume their concerns are for me, my welfare (or perhaps theirs, their issue? roundbout way?). Good intentions tho, yes. We normal average close middle class family but never ever really 'talked' about any 'difficult' issues, if you get my drift. Dad asked me once go see a shrink, I said no. I don't see I have a problem and I find it bit absurd that I'm told I do have. When it comes to me it appears my family are acting like they know it all. Without even asking me how I feel !!