Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Dominique21
Casual Contributor

Daughter with BPD

Hi,

We have a  22 year old daughter has been diagnosed with BPD. She is very 'flighty' and is avoiding help/treatment. What can we do as parents? It has been very hard on the family to watch her mental health deteriorate. Anyone with similar experience, we would love to hear from you.

20 REPLIES 20

Re: Daughter with BPD

Hi @Dominique21,

Welcome to the Forums. My name is FloatingFeather and I am one of the peer support workers at SANE. It is nice to have you here with us.

Whilst I don't have much experience around BPD I am a support carer for a family member who has Bipolar so I have some understanding around how you may be feeling. When my family member was first diagnosed I was confused/unsure around how best I could help. I also didn't really understand Bipolar at the time so I did a lot of research, watch videos, etc so I had a better understanding of what Bipolar was, what my family member may be going through, and how I could potentially help.

I will copy a couple of links here which may be able to offer you some help: 

- BPD information 

BPD Awareness Week Chat 

Information for families and carers