Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

AFK
Senior Contributor

Caring for an unwell partner

Hi all,

I've come to this forum for a range of reasons. Partly for my own mental health stuff, and partly because I could sure use some support in being there for my partner. He has had an organ transplant less than 2 years ago, and is still very much recovering from that. He will be on immune suppressants for the rest of his life, so all this happening concurrent with the pandemic is frightful. He has to take a massive pile of meds every day, he struggles with digestion, headaches, very low energy and depression. He's always had depression, but it's a wholly new animal since the surgery, and he's having to re-learn his body alongside this; he functions so differently now and it confounds him. His memory has become far worse than it was before. Whilst I am no longer his carer in the sense that he can shower and dress himself and all that stuff and can do a bit of housework, I do still do the lion share of the household work (and of course there is more of it than before, with two of us to clean up after and vigilance re covid triples that again) and have to do all the organising and remembering of stuff.