Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Emmylou
Contributor

Anxiety and Work

Hi there, 

I am new to Sane Forums and would like some advice if possible? 
My brother in law has been through a rough period with anxiety, depression, medication changes and hospital admissions, and through it all his work has been very supportive allowing for leave and have just organised a back to work plan. My brother in law says he cannot cope being back at work. 
My sister has two little ones (below 6yrs) and works part time as well as care for her husband. She and I as carers are at a loss how best to support my brother in law!?? He used to love his job and really enjoyed providing for his family. And his work has been so understanding and accommodating- yet he wants to give up. My sister will be in a lot of financial strain if he quits plus they have just been approved to rent a new place which requires two part time incomes if not two full time! I am helping my sister out! But what can we do when he needs to work but says he cannot. I worry for my little nieces and how this will effect them.

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Anxiety and Work

Hey @Emmylou, what a stressful situation for you all!

Firstly, welcome to the forums, I am Sunshineandsea, one of the Peer Support Workers.