Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

Brodie
Contributor

Borderline Personality Disorder tips for family and friends

1. Read as much as you can about BPD — knowing about the disorder helps you deal with it.
  2. Understand that BPD behaviors aren’t about you. Try to depersonalize what’s happening.
  3. Collaboration for change. Accept that families can help, can learn effective skills and become therapeutic partners. They can reinforce treatment. 
  4. Be realistic. You will not eliminate another person’s borderline behavior, no matter how well you communicate. Only that person can do that. Your goal is simply to communicate in a way that respects you and the personal with borderline personality disorder. Click for more tips on communicating with someone with BPD.
  5. maintaining other sustaining life roles such as friendships, leisure activities and work.
  6. Maintaining good health, emotional and spiritual well-being.
  7. Don’t invalidate their emotions. Everyone experiences emotions, and people with BPD experience them in spades – that is the very nature of emotional dysregulation. When a loved one of a person with BPD invalidates the emotions of someone with BPD, the result is shame and mistrust in expressing their emotions.