Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Special Events

Re: 5 Day Online Event! You Are Not Alone - Crisis Advice for Family, Friends & Carers

@NatureLover it is very difficult to entrust someone to be a support person for you, I know for a long time I was not providing appropriate support for mental health.  Being a middle age married couple makes a lot of difference as you know each other intimately (yikes ... did I just call myself middle aged??? By intimately I mean a detailed knowledge of a person). 

The support I give to friends with mental health issues includes regular catch ups (usually fixed day/interval - ie weekly or fortnightly coffee, garden centre visit or other enjoyable activity) and sending funny texts to a number of acquaintances, some of whom Mr Darcy met as an inpatient. Having a regular time is helpful as it gives us both something to look forward to but also helps with boundaries. I do not bring up their mental health and will only discuss it if they want to. Apart from encouraging them to speak openly to treating team/therapist I tend not to get involved with anything relating to treatment as I have very strong opinions based on our experiences.