Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

sage28
Casual Contributor

i don’t want to lose my younger sister

Hi. It’s my first time using this forum, i hope i’m doing it correctly. this post may be dark, i’m sorry. i feel i need to get it off my chest. i hope i am in the right place to do that without negatively impacting anyone else. 

my whole family has experienced trauma. i had an undiagnosed illness that left me in wheelchair for two years, and my family sort of crumbled during that time. my younger sibling has always been my best friend. she has gotten me through some very dark times, without even knowing it. i never let her know how low i was, but she kept me laughing. i always tried to protect her from the darkest things. i was okay to let them fall on me. all i wanted was for her to be safe and happy. 

she has mental health issues, that much we know. we aren’t sure what it is exactly, yet. we are trying everything to get her the support she needs. still, she relies on me - and me alone - to be there for her. as she holds resentment against our parents for past issues. i have always taken that on as my duty, to be there for her completely. no matter the cost to myself. i’m 19.