Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Bamzowee
Casual Contributor

Trouble with my sister.

My sister, who is 43 with diagnosed social and generalised anxiety, is not medicated and is having some issues.

She caught covid in November and since then has had trouble with her smell. This has therefore made her anxiety flare up terribly.

She has spoken to and seen many doctors about this who say it’s related to covid and the bit of inflammation she has in her sinuses. They prescribe sprays to help, which as soon as she uses she believes that they have taken her smell away even more. She has also taken supplements to assist in sinus problems, but then also believes it is them that have broken her smell too.

She has had a CT scan and seen an ENT who has said she has no issues and it is just the covid and small amount of inflammation.

However, even after all this she thinks she is doomed and will never have her smell back.

She has been withdrawn from us for a while but it is progressively getting worse and she barely is eating due to the fact she can’t smell anything so “what’s the point”.