Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it

Re: Not Coping

The osteo mentioned an x-ray, I had an ultrasound many years ago, but nothing came of that for the clicking. It's like I feel something moving before the click, and then it goes back into place. @Former-Member 

I hope your muffins go well. 

Former-Member
Not applicable

Hm, an X-ray doesn’t really illuminate soft tissue unless there’s some sort of cellular changes in it that include radio-opaque material (eg: calcification of soft tissue)…which can happen, but isn’t very often from what I know (but I may be wrong!) 

If US hasn’t illuminated the soft tissue, then a CT or MRI would show the possibility of a labrum issue (that’s part of the soft tissue that forms part of the ‘cup’ that the hip bone head sits inside, and is like a rim all the way around the edge of the bone cup, and extends then into the fibrous joint capsule). However, correct interpretation of these is usually done by an orthopaedic surgeon. Otherwise, there are other structures around that can make a clicking sound with inflamed bursas - but again, elimination of hip joint pathology is always a good idea before exploring secondary potential causes. 
I hope that’s helpful..? Might be well worth asking your GP for a decent image test and see what that shows, then good clinical decisions can be made given a bit more definitive info 🙂🌺

Yes, thank you for that info. I was a bit surprised when osteo mentioned an x-ray over CT or MRI. 

I might send her an email to double-check what she wants, and I will let my GP know on Friday when I see her.