Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

misunderstood
Contributor

Mother Seeking Advice

Hi, This is the first time I have attempted to use a forum because I feel very concerned that anything I say might cause certain people who I need to conceal things from will  recognised who I am or who I'm talking about. I feel very worried about it but I have to take the chance and reach out this way because I don't know where else to go.

I am a mother of a beautiful daughter who has mental issues. When I first found out anything was wrong with her  was when I myself had just finished dealing with post traumatic stress from an incestual childhood. 

When I found out there was a problem, I was shocked an horrified since she was harming herself. I didn't know what to do or where to go for information to help her. I was too devastated to think properly.

The first thing I was told was that I have lost her. I couldn't believe it. This was another wave of devastation to me but then when I tried to asked questions and gain some sort of understanding I was told that my daughter's information was not available to me.