Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

purple_leaf
Casual Contributor

How to support someone who doesn't think they need it

Hi members, 

First time posting here. I hope this message finds you all safe and as well as can be. 

I'm in need of advice and guidance on how to help my older brother (late twenties) who needs mental health support but is in denial that anything is wrong. 

At this stage my family members and friends have encouraged him to go and seek help from a psychologist but he denies the need and refuses to go. 

Over the last 3 years he has completely changed. His behaviour is immature and child-like at times and unpredictable in nature (often shouting or yelling or making crude jokes in public). 

He is making irrational decisions (from impulse buying fish and fish tanks to applying to multiple different courses but not seeing them through) which have significantly affected him financially. 

Socially, he has isolated himself from all of our friends. When we were still hanging out together, he would stare, make inappropriate jokes and behave in odd ways making others uncomfortable.