Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Ashley8
Contributor

Going Crazy

Hi my Adult daughter is driving me crazy !! She is so demanding and critical of me, verbally abuses me in front of her teenage children - my grandkids. I feel exasperated, I’m nearly 70 and it’s starting to make my health deteriorate !!! I need help 😔

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Going Crazy

Hi @Ashley8 ,

I'm sorry to hear this is happening to you. There is only so much one can handle. Do you have any supports in place for yourself whether it be friends, family or professional supports?

I'm hear, listening.

If you type "@" in front of my username, I will receive a notification of your reply. Like this @tyme .

Not really, my friends tell me to stop seeing my daughter but I keep trying to support her as she is a single mother.

Perhaps it's not about helping or not helping, but rather setting some healthy boundaries. e.g. which days/times you will help, when you can't help, the respect you deserve etc?

Have you ever spoken to her about boundaries? @Ashley8 

She breaks boundaries by begging and pleading with me then gets her children to ask if they can come to my house for the weekend as their mum said I didn’t want ant them ???

I'm sorry this is happening for you @Ashley8 .