Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Fluttershy1
Senior Contributor

Dealing with a family member with depression and mood swings

Heyhey, 

im new to this side of forums but as most of you know I’m over the lived experience side, I have a family member that has a mental health issue which is quite overwhelming for me and I’m stuck on what to do because I live with them and care for them and they don’t seem to appreciate it. It just upsets me more when they get angry at me for no reason and like I try to help them but they don’t let me. 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Dealing with a family member with depression and mood swings

I hear you it’s a very difficult thing to not feel appreciated. You have every right to be upset ,it’s hard not to be . Even when our brain knows they have a problem and they probably don’t mean to hurt us the body reacts differently. I know with my daughters mood swings, they are killing me but I actually know she loves me and needs me more than I need her. I have no answers. I can only give you my support and let you know I’m with you.

Sometimes having our own struggles makes it easier to manage other people's struggles. Sometimes it make us more vulnerable. I have a family complex that's a bit of both really.