Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Boo13
Community Guide

Any tips on how to help a loved one with the physical impacts of MI?

Hi,

My teenage son has schizophrenia.  He is doing really well at the momenta X I am so proud of him.  My fear is the impact that his medication and illness has had on his physical health.  Since July 2017, my son has put on nearly 30 kgs.  He has trialled a lot of different medications and this has also included metformin.  He is disinterested in doing much exercise, despite encouragement.  He buys junk food daily and throws healthy food away whenever he gets the opportunity.

i am fearful that he will die very young if he doesn't change his habits.  I have to tread carefully with any comments because he gets very irritated and late last year attempted suicide soon after I commented about his weight.

we started a free gym program for people with MI at the beginning of the year, but he soon lost interest and stopped.  Should I make an appointment with his GP for a health check?  Does anyone have any tips about what else I can do?

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Any tips on how to help a loved one with the physical impacts of MI?