Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Jewel
Contributor

Any ideas on how to get my adult son to go out?

Hi

My son has a serious mental illness, part of which is social anxiety. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how I could encourage to go out and feel safe doing so. I am willing to go with him.

19 REPLIES 19

Re: Any ideas on how to get my adult son to go out?

Hi Jewel,

Welcome to the Forums.

It's hard to not be general in my response without knowing much more about your son's mental illness. Is he currently undergoing any treatment, and if so, is he finding it useful.

Often a therapist will work with an individual to create small steps and techniques to help manage social anxiety. Perhaps the end goal is to be able to go out for a period of time without distress, however, there could be many steps between where someone is now, and the end goal.

It's great that your son has you to support him with whatever that goal may look like.

There are a few members here whose loved one has anxiety, so I'm sure there will be more advice and experiences to come. If I recall, @ElliLou 's daughter deals with anxiety, she may have some tips for you?