Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Theodora
Casual Contributor

Anxious Attachment style in friend

Hi,

I have a young adult friend who I’ve supported through the last few years. It’s come to my and others attention lately that she is becoming over reliant on me and is being here with my family at the expense of her own family and friends.

she has a history of trauma and loss, and is emotionally unstable. She shows all signs of an anxious anxiety style. 
we don’t know how best to advise her. We all feel like although it will be hard, the best thing for her is probably to break the habit of being here.. she does not agree.. at the same time there is also the thought in my mind, that babies grow most independent if they are securely attached and so maybe she actually needs more security around her place here rather than less.

both opposing ideas and so it’s very difficult to come to an agreement with her support network, not to even mention her, as to what is the best way to go about this.

Thanks for any advice 

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Anxious Attachment style in friend

Hi @Theodora