Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Rp79
Contributor

Alcohol and BPD advice on a conversation

Hi, my daughter has recently been diagnosed with bpd (amongst other things) and she was using drugs and alcohol for years to numb everything. She has given up the drugs and she did stop drinking for a while after her first admission in to psychiatric care.

She started slowly drinking again (2 large bottles of wine once a week or so if she had an exceptionally good or bad day) and then it started happening every couple of nights especially before she was due to be admitted for the 3rd time in 18 months. Her excuse then was that she wouldn't be able to drink for a month so she was doing it while she can.

She went from sort of working (she was going home early almost daily) to studying which would only last a couple of months tops before quitting. She worked for 2 or 3 months, 3 days a week at the beginning of the year but had to quit. She went back to studying for a couple of months before quitting again.

She is now applying for disability as she knows that she will be unable to work or study until she gets more treatment. I am fine with this as I understand her problems.