Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

maddison
Senior Contributor

Advice on sleep deprivation

Hi Everyone!

I will try to make this brief!!

I'm really looking for advice on how seriously I need to be concerned for my friend.

(Long term mental health diagnosis that is being managed by treatment team in the community )

Over past few months he has developed symptoms, possibly similar to how I imagine bipolar disorder presents. (His treating team are aware)

My main issue or concern is that he goes several nights without sleep. He is deeply focused on his activity. I need to motivate & remind him to eat.

He is prescribed fairly strong sedative to help during these times, yet they have no effect.

Currently we are on day 2 (no sleep 2 nights). It generally lasts 3-4 nights. I have usually been calling triage on the 3rd night.

I am concerned because of the 4 day weekend ahead. His usual case manager will not be available.

I guess, I am asking - 'Is there something more I should be doing?'

I'm not sure how serious symptom this is considered to be. Has he been overlooked by the system? Or would this be considered a "managable in the community" type behaviour? - & what I'm doing (by contacting triage/case manager & providing information) is correct & enough.