Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Libra
Senior Contributor

schizophrenia

Hi everyone,

I haven't been coping too well the last few weeks and needed to share...(my 31 yr old son is a diagnosed schizophrenic),I took him shopping last Thursday and he was clearly affected by ice. The day before, he called me in a panic and said that he has a drama and couldn't get his depot injection and that he had arranged to have it in another 2 weeks, which would breach his CTO. I went along with his story, but called his case manager to let him now. 

Anyway on the Thursday, he was very aggressive towards me and my car, yelling and saying weird stuff, it was a bit scary. I tried to remain calm and talk to him, I asked him if he ever got tired of being a drug addict....that didn't go down too well. He doesn't believe he has a problem. Then I found out that he was $500 in arrears with his rent and was possibly going to be evicted! So far that hasn't happened and his case manager visited him and gave him his depot injection.

My thing is...should I keep supporting him or give us both some space?? I told him that I wouldn't be buying anymore groceries as he didn't pay back the full amout he owed me from the previous week. He even demanded I pay his rent!