Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

angela4
Casual Contributor

daughter who won't let me in

Hi everyone,

My smart and lovely girl is 21. She has had diagnosed depression for 3 years, tho she has battled intermittantly throughout her teens. SHe was a driven student and athlete. After yr 12 she went to uni, and had a major depressive episode half way thru first yr. She dropped out and has been on a meds/psych roller coaster ever since. Now, off all meds (at Doctor's instruction), I have managed to convince her to go back to her psychologist - COVID has been awful for her. Lost her P/T job and totally isolated, she regressed. She is constantly angry and won't talk to me. She will stay in her room all day. I know she feels alone, lonely and 'unfixable'. I don't kknow how to help.   

4 REPLIES 4

Re: daughter who won't let me in

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear what you are going through! You are absolutely not alone here, I believe this happens more than is talked about.

Good tips on this website https://www.psychologytoday.com/au/blog/crazy-life/201509/how-help-your-adult-child-if-they-have-men...

Edit: Duplicate post deleted