Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

zipper
Contributor

Wives caring for Husbands

Hello ladies

I am a wife who has had a husband with depression for 10 years now.  He has had multiple hospitalisations, long series of ECT's, and is now not able to work.  I would love to hear from ladies who have been, are in, my shoes and was wondering if you would answer a few questions for me.

1. Where have you needed the most help, and, could you find it?

2. What has been your hardest struggle?

thanks in advance and all my best wishes

ZZ

81 REPLIES 81

Re: Wives caring for Husbands

Hi @zipper 

Great question!

I know there's a few ladies in here who I'm sure could share some advice.

I just wanted to welcome you to the forums, thank you for sharing your story (I've seen your other comments) and thank you asking this very relevant question.

Come on ladies - join the conversation!

Nik

And perhaps broaden the topic to partners caring for partners..my husband has been my carer at times when I was unwell, and we both care for other family members close to us..

Hi Zipper, my Husband has depression too, perhaps less severely than your husband does - mine has never been hospitalised, for example. But it has a huge impact on our lives nonetheless. To answer your questions: