Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Exhaustedcousin
New Contributor

New here need to let it out

Hi so for the last two and a half years I have been trying to “be there” support my cousin. I was asked to keep an eye on him by his mother before she died. He is schizophrenic and an alcoholic. 49 years and the most draining person I think I have ever known. I was told by a relative they believe he contributed to his mother’s death and to be honest I believe it. He has threatened me numerous times directly and indirectly, rings me constantly and both with and without alcohol will abuse me, accuse me of saying things I don’t, tells me incredulous things that happened to him, some of these become disgusting and graphic sexually. He is nasty, accuses me of being cruel be cause I try to take time out from him for my own sake. 

Today as per numerous other times he has abused me for not spending time with him. I went to his house and left cigarettes and money under the door because he wasn’t home. For this I get told I am being cruel and he was nasty and trying to keep me on the phone even though I have my 2 grandchildren under 5. 

I lost it, I screamed at him that I had enough. That he is cruel and mean and nasty to me. I yelled at him to leave me alone.