Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Grace91
New Contributor

My mum has no insight into her mental health

Hi, I'm a little overwhelmed on where to start with my story but my mum is living with mental health and unfortunately has no insight into her mental health.

This is hard to navigate because she isn't receiving the help and support she needs because she doesn't recognize her mental health. I believe my mum has Borderline Personality Disorder, I don't know if she has been diagnosed however myself, my siblings and other family members have recognized from years of lived experience that things my mum does and says echoes everything that BPD outlines. 

One of the hardest things is that both my other siblings no longer have a relationship with my mum, this is because her 'episodes' as I call them result in her saying and doing some very disturbing and hurtful things and unfortunately it has reached a point where they and their families do not want to maintain a relationship with her. It has now been a number of years since they have both spoken to her. In addition to this other family members have stopped contact aswell. I know this may seem strange to some people but I do understand why they have made that decision and I hold no resentment towards them for it.