Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Elsie-may
New Contributor

Mum to 20 year old son with bipolar 1

Just introducing myself. Married with 3 kids,  the eldest son has bipolar 1 diagnosis and is currently in hospital fpr his fourth psychotic mania. He is living at home and trying to get his life in order but struggling with accepting his diagnosis and taking medication . Hence he ends up manic and delusional to the point he requires hospital to keep him safe. It is such a rollercoaster. I struggle with not being able to do any more than support him, and hate watching him suffer ,especially when in hospital and so frightened and angry and desperate and unable to sleep despite all the meds. He is slowly coming down from the mania after 3 weeks and the issue will be how to help him avoid it happening all over again next time. When i can i horse ride or bike ride in the bush for exercise and time out. Most of the time i feel im coping, but talking is good and sharing experiences with others helps ,so here i am🤔

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Mum to 20 year old son with bipolar 1

Hi there @Elsie-may