Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

maddison
Senior Contributor

Made to feel silly for trying to prevent worsening symptoms

It's been a very stressful 24 hours. I can see warning signs of relapse (schizophrenia) of my friend of nearly 20 years, whom I live with.

In the last 10 days, he has slept around 3. His behaviour is manic & since this morning has become verbally aggressive/abusive. I have been in contact with his case worker over this period. She has made no effort to assess him, and is mostly uninvolved/absent in his care, compared to previous nurses he has had.

I have been worried about him for last fortnight. There are plenty of times where he is kind & coherent. I have noticed a decline, enough that my sleep has been affected by the stress.