Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Re: Loving ourselves while healing from relationships

Hi @maddison 

How have you been?

Just came by the forum to share on a couple other threads - there has been some family drama recently, mostly because of my dad's behaviour. 

It's brought up a lot of old trauma. But I'm trying to focus on what's in my control and what's right for my mom's health. 

It's extremely hard right now to ignore others irrational behaviour and I wish I could react with kindness, understanding and patience but all I have is multiple thinking traps, stress, anger and impatience.

I'm trying hard to accept myself this way even though it's so far from my values. I'm trying to be compassionate and overcome others gaslighting by getting in touch with my inner child and reassuring her she's not what they're saying - it's hard to believe the words of self-compassion right now but I'm still trying.

I'm having to take a few really difficult decisions and I'm choosing to do what will give me peace of mind instead of accommodating others feelings, thoughts and behaviour and changing my original plan - I'm proud that I'm staying true to my needs and also the logical next step.