Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

BillyF
Casual Contributor

Living with a schizophrenic

Hello.

I have a sister with schizophrenia. Our family has been suffering with her. Since she turned 18, her first symptoms were aggressiveness, not able to sleep, stay like statue, talk illogically,etc. It has been a nightmare to our family.

Her doctor gave her medication with which she is able to do her personal needs. When she skips the meds, the schizo attacks come back. Her college mates and professor treats her with indifference and this doesn't help her social skill at all.

She has constant mood swing even with medication. We found out that the food plays a key role for brain reaction on to mood swing.Processed food, can food are definitely big NO. Food with preservative make her whole body itchy with red lumps.

Has diet restriction helped other schizophrenia patients? 

I find very hard to have understanding for her. What is your main motivation? I want my family to be whole and together, but sometimes I just want to quit and go away.

Billy

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Living with a schizophrenic

Hi @BillyF,

Welcome the Forums!