Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
MJG017
Senior Contributor

Is my psychologist right?...

So I have a question that has been bothering me since my last appointment with a psychologist a few days ago.  Basically I have been seeing them through the oncology psychology service offered at my local hospital, to you know... deal with the stress, anxiety and general drama that dealing with cancer brings.  So I don't generally talk to them about all my other issues.  I had used my 10 MHCP visits this year for that.

Anyway, the past 3 visits I got the very strong feeling they wanted me to stop using the service.  At the start of every session they give you one of those mental health screening assessments to see how you've been feeling recently.  Mine have generally been pretty bad since a not-so-good test result last December.  Before my last visit they hinted quite strongly that my results weren't improving and were still very high scores so maybe this wasn't working for me.  I said I felt it was because I found talking to them about it helpful and that yes I'm still having trouble dealing with the new realities of everything but I wanted to continue working on it because it was still causing bouts of deep depression that I couldn't control.  That seemed to work the first time.  Then the next session I was also told, when the subject came up again, that maybe I've had too many sessions.  Finally in my last session a few days ago it was brought up again but this time a bit more... 'less-hinty'!