Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

daughter31
New Contributor

Hoarding

My mum is a hoarder and living in uninhabitable conditions. I don't know where to turn to for support and resources and I don't think she does either. It seems there isn't much support in Brisbane?

My siblings and I have done many clean ups and throw outs with her in the past. But how many more times must we do this? Nothing changes, it just gets worse.

My siblings have also moved on and out of town. She deserves another life. I don't know if she knows that but I do tell her anyways. 

I say it every year - this is the year we will get it under control and find the support she needs. But perhaps I am as bad she is, because I never succeed, and I feel I never try hard enough.

Does anyone have any suggestions/tips? 

I feel quite alone in this. I have been able to speak with friends and family. But it's been over a decade and my heart is breaking and I feel like I am failing her.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Hoarding

Hey @daughter31 and welcome to the Forums! We are glad that you are here and able to share your story.