Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Sev
New Contributor

Feeling Isolated

Hi there all I’m forty year old male from the NSW central coast currently living and caring for my 76 year old mother who is on a walker and has bipolar disorder.

I’m finding it pretty tough because I suffer from anxiety and depression myself and I don’t really get out into society because of my role and my own self isolation.

I’m trying to go to some local support groups and get some counselling to face these issues but it hasn’t been easy for me.

I feel liked my role is locked it for the future and I don’t know if I can have a happy life for myself apart from caring for my mum.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Feeling Isolated

Gday @Sev ,

Welcome to the forums. Thank you to connecting with us.

I hope others will be able to share their experiences and insights into similar situations.

I'm wondering if you are eligible for our Guided Service. You can find out on https://www.sane.org/referral.

We also have Drop-in counselling services available on 1800 187 263 (M-F, 10am-10pm AEDT)

https://www.sane.org/get-support/drop-in-service

I look forward to hearing from you,

tyme

Hi @Sev ,

I hear you on how you may be feeling!