Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

ExhaustedCarer
Contributor

Exhausted.com- planning help for two very unwell people has left me run ragged

I’m having a night. Tears, frustration, worry, fear. 
i care for my mum and brother. Brother has severe, chronic alcoholism and mum has undiagnosed mental health issues and lives in severe hoarding and squalor. I’ve been a big support carer for them for years and in the last 6 weeks it has been my every day. 
I’m 33, have a good job, a beautiful partner and am a stepmum. But all of this seems swept away in the all consuming work of trying to stablise and get help for my mum and brother. 
i guess tonight I won’t bore you with the wretched details of just how bad and overwhelming things are right now. I wanted to reflect on why it is I’ve let this become an enormous part of my life.